Datavault AI share price falls nearly 50% after BTC withdrawal freeze
Quick answer
Datavault AI’s share price dropped nearly 50% following a public disclosure that the company has been unable to withdraw Bitcoin held via Biconomy since June 2026. The freeze affects BTC deposited with Biconomy — a third-party infrastructure provider — and raises questions about custody arrangements, onchain asset control, and counterparty exposure in AI-data tokenization platforms. No official statement from Biconomy has been published as of the source date (PANews, 2026-10-28).
What triggered the stock decline?
On or before 2026-10-28, Datavault AI disclosed it had been unable to withdraw Bitcoin deposited with Biconomy since June 2026 (PANews, 2026-10-28). The disclosure coincided with a ~48% intraday drop in its listed equity. The company did not specify the amount of BTC affected, nor did it clarify whether the funds remain visible on-chain or are reflected in internal accounting. No audit report, onchain proof of deposit, or custodial agreement was cited in the source material.
How does this affect different market participants?
Investors holding Datavault AI shares face direct valuation risk tied to unverified off-exchange BTC reserves. For users of Datavault AI’s data marketplace, the incident highlights dependency on centralized infrastructure providers — not smart contracts or self-custodied vaults — for asset settlement. Developers integrating Biconomy’s SDK may reassess assumptions about finality and withdrawal guarantees, especially where BTC is used as collateral or payment. Regulators in jurisdictions tracking crypto custody practices — including those monitoring virtual asset service providers (VASPs) under FATF Recommendation 16 — may examine whether Datavault AI’s disclosures meet transparency thresholds for tokenized real-world assets.
What remains uncertain?
The source article does not state whether Datavault AI holds legal title to the BTC, whether Biconomy acts as custodian or intermediary, or whether the freeze stems from technical, compliance, or operational causes. No onchain transaction hash, wallet address, or Merkle proof was provided to verify existence or movement of the assets. PANews reported the issue without citing regulatory filings, court documents, or blockchain explorers. Market participants cannot confirm whether the BTC is frozen at the protocol layer, held in cold storage under dispute, or misallocated across internal ledgers. This ambiguity affects valuation models reliant on verifiable reserve backing.
Frequently asked questions
Q: Is Biconomy a regulated custodian? A: Public records do not indicate Biconomy holds a custodial license in major jurisdictions including the U.S., EU, or Singapore as of 2026-10-28. Its documentation describes itself as a transaction infrastructure layer, not a licensed custodian. For definitions of custody and regulatory scope, see our Glossary.
Q: Does Datavault AI publish proof-of-reserves? A: No audited or onchain proof-of-reserves has been published by Datavault AI as of the source date (PANews, 2026-10-28). Its latest investor presentation — referenced in the article — omitted reserve verification methodology, chain analytics, or third-party attestations.
Risk warning and disclosure
Cryptocurrency investments are volatile and carry substantial risk of loss. This article reports publicly available information from PANews dated 2026-10-28. It does not constitute financial, legal, or tax advice. We do not hold positions in Datavault AI, Biconomy, or related tokens. Some links in this article point to internal resources for context; the only external action path is /go/binance-download/, which directs readers to an official Binance app distribution channel. Binance is a separate entity; its official domain is binance.com. We receive no compensation for referrals to Binance or any other exchange. For broader market context, visit our news section.
Risk warning and disclosure
Some outbound links may be affiliate links and we may earn a commission. This article is independent third-party information, not an official publication, and is not investment advice.
Related News
入门 Ancient ETH whale deposits final 7,594 tokens to Kraken
An unidentified long-term Ethereum holder deposited 7,594 ETH to Kraken on October 28, 2026 — the last transfer from a wallet cluster first tracked in 201…
入门 Hong Kong launches secondary market for tokenized funds under ETF-like rules
The SFC introduced a regulatory framework for trading tokenized collective investment schemes on October 28, 2026 — applying ETF-level standards for custo…
入门 5,000 ETH from Ethereum ICO-era whale moved to exchanges — market structure implications
A long-dormant Ethereum presale wallet transferred 5,000 ETH to centralized exchanges on October 26, 2026. Blockchain data confirms full deposit across at…
Follow the market on a major exchange
Download Binance or OKX from the official website to start trading.